Crop Circle Mystery in My Backyard Solved!

I want to thank everyone for their creative (if somewhat far-fetched) ideas about what caused the odd circles on my front and back lawns.

I mean, really, gnomes????

Come on, that is just plain silly.

Especially compared to the much more plausible idea that extraterrestrials could have visited from an immensely huge distance away that would take hundreds of years to traverse, reproducing several generations on board their ship packed with food supplies that would suffice for the journey, and then picked my backyard in which to descend in their completely silent vehicle only to check out my garden and then vanish without even stopping in for a cup of tea.

Here I am trying to have serious discussions on this blog about issues that really matter and someone (David, you will go nameless here) suggests gnomes. Meh.

Well, as it turns out, there is a much more mundane answer to the origin of these circles.

ME!

Unknowingly, I myself was creating these other-worldly-looking patterns.

The first clue came from theIMG_2101 observation by a friend that the diameter of the circles exactly matched that of my lawn mower blade.

Interesting coincidence, I thought.

But the clincher came while I was cutting the grass yesterday.

We’ve had a lot of rain the last week or so in Toronto, so the grass has been growing at a fierce pace. It had been a week since I had mown the lawn and the grass was probably about 4 inches high. IMG_2100Now, as you can probably tell from the picture, mine is not a heavy duty lawnmower, and it frequently clogs up with grass underneath, especially if the grass is a bit wet, which it was from the dew, since I was cutting it in the relatively early morning — about  9:15 to be exact. That would be Eastern Standard Time. Which is a bit odd since Toronto is more in the middle of Canada than in the east.

But I digress.

I was making my way through a particularly thick patch of grass when I noted that the grass was not exiting from the side chute from whence it should. So, I did what I always do. I gave the lawnmowerIMG_2104 a quick jerk backwards causing it to ascend into the air a couple of inches and when it landed, it loosened the wet grass that had accumulated inside and blew it out the chute.

As I walked on, I was stunned to see that I was now walking over a newly minted crop circle.

While my heart sank with disappointment at the realization that I had not been singled out from the nearly 7 billion other humans on this planet for a visitation from the skies, I nonetheless noted a small satisfaction that the mystery had been solved.

The normal had replaced the paranormal. As it always seems to do.

So, I am back to being a skeptic about extraterrestrial visitations.

Go figure.

____________________

P.S. There’s still time to vote on my poll about whether or not YOU believe extraterrestrials have visited the planet. I’ll be closing the poll shortly.

Take the poll.

4 Comments

Filed under Athesim

4 responses to “Crop Circle Mystery in My Backyard Solved!

  1. Cassie CHAN

    O…..you break my dream! I was dreaming having cup of coffee with extraterrestrials at your house since u have posted the blog last week. >_<

    • theformerfundie

      Sorry, Cassie. But you are still welcome to come over for coffee any time. It’s only a 13 hour flight away. : )

  2. This is hilarious. You may not have been visited by extraterrestrials but you can take heart in the perfection of round things… many round things on your now perfect lawn.

  3. Okay, admit it. You were just a little weirded out, right? It was a pretty close call. And, just so you know, I heard your “Phew” all the way down here!

Leave a Reply

