Why Scientific Thinking is Good For Everyone, Not Just Scientists – Part 3: What Does Science Say You Should Eat?

This blog entry is primarily aimed at my own people – the skeptical community. As skeptics, we claim that we try to govern our lives by reason, evidence, and science. And yet, I have found over the years that when it comes to the connection between diet, health, and disease, many of my fellow-skeptics resort more to emotion, irrationality, and dogma than critical thought and reason.
I should state up front that I am a vegan and have been one for about 8 years (and a vegetarian for 12 years prior to that). 5885Over the years, I have read many well-designed studies from a wide variety of sources (most of them mainline medical journals) that repeatedly demonstrate the health benefits (not to say anything about the environmental benefits) of a plant-based, whole-food diet. So, I am amazed at the casual dismissal (and, sometimes, the outright derision) I frequently encounter from my fellow skeptics when such a diet is advocated as a significant means of both prevention and, often, reversal of serious medical conditions like heart disease, diabetes, osteoporosis, arthritis, hypertension, and cancer.
So, to my fellow skeptics in particular –but to all who are trying to use sound thinking, solid research, and substantial evidence to make better decisions – I would like to suggest two sources for you to check out in thinking about the health benefits of a plant-based, whole-food diet:
  1. the Physician’s Committee for Responsible Medicine (PCRM), and
  2. the T. Colin Campbell Foundation — Campbell is the author of the outstanding, The China Study: Startling Implications for Diet, Weight Loss, and Long-Term Health.
For a relatively quick read on this topic, you can go to this link to an article from Discover Magazine in 2004 entitled, What Does Science Say You Should Eat?“. I invite you to employ your best scientific thinking as you read it and check out the websites above. And as always, I’d love to get your feedback.

autumn-fall-produce-vegetables

Leave a comment

Filed under Athesim

Leave a Reply

